Today from Hiiraan Online:  _
Somali parliament appoints members to presidential election organizing committee

Wednesday May 4, 2022

Mogadishu (HOL) - Somalia's federal parliament selected 14 of the 17 members on Tuesday to the organizing committee for the upcoming presidential elections.

The Speaker of the House of the People - or Lower House - Sheikh Aden Mohamed Nur (Madobe) chaired the plenary session, which nominated eight members to the 10-member Presidential Election Commission.

They are: 
  1. MP Mowlid Abdi Mohamed

  2. MP Ali Haji Dahir

  3. MP Nur Mustafmukhtar

  4. MP Mohamed Ahmed Berey

  5. MP Mohamed Ibrahim Mucalimu

  6. MP Mohamed Ananug

  7. MP Omar Yusuf

  8. MP Fardowsa Mohamed Egal 

Sheikh Aden Madobe said that the Lower House MPs would add the remaining three members in the coming hours.

Meanwhile, the Speaker of the Upper House, Abdi Hashi Abdullahi, today appointed a committee of 6 members to the presidential election committee of the Federal Government of Somalia.‎

They are: 

  1. Sen. Ali Mohamud Ga'al - Southwest
  2. Sen. Prof. Abdi Ismail Samatar - Somaliland
  3. Sen. Abdiqani Geele Mohammed - Putland
  4. Sen. Farhan Ali Mohamud - Puntland
  5. Sen. Ibrahim Awgaab Osman - Jubaland
  6. Sen. Zamzam Abdullahi Ahmed - Hirshabelle 
Somalia's bi-cameral parliament will directly elect the president of Somalia. While a date is not yet scheduled, it is expected to occur sometime this month.

However, a three-year IMF financial assistance package worth close to half a billion dollars will automatically expire on May 17. If it does lapse, it can jeopardize the disbursement of budget support grants and derail the plan for complete debt forgiveness.



Click here