Today from Hiiraan Online:  _
Jubaland elects five more MPs, remains with 20 seats to fill up

Tuesday February 22, 2022

KISMAYO (HOL) - Jubaland state elected five more MPs today bringing to 23 the number of MPs elected from the southerly state.

Abdirashid Mohamed Hidig garnered 75 votes to retain his seat after beating his only rival Abdisamad Mohamed Abdullahi who got 18 votes. In the second race, Mowlid Abdi Mohamud was elected MP beating his rival Hassan Tifow.

Mohamud Mohamed Omar (Kulow) got 74 votes to emerge a winner for the third seat trouncing Bashir Nur Dhumal who received 21 votes while Abdikadir Mohamed Wa’eys was elected the fourth MP after defeating Daud Osman Ali.

Omar Yusuf Qalaadiid won seat 136 by 82 votes to succeed veteran politician and historian Mohamed Gandhi who died last April. Abdifatah Omar Maalim who contested with Qalaadiid received 17 votes.

With 23 MPs now elected, Jubaland remains with 20 seats to be filled in order to complete the electoral process.


Click here