Today from Hiiraan Online:  _
Madobe and Abdinur move to second round of voting

Wednesday April 27, 2022

‎Mogadishu (HOL) - The first round of the election of the speaker of the Somali parliament concluded on Wednesday evening, with ‎Hasan Abdinur emerging as the leading vote-getter. 

The top two candidates will move on to a run-off election.

Abdinur was able to receive 98 first-round votes. He will be met in the second round by former parliamentary speaker Sheikh Adan Madobe who was able to muster 74 votes.

Abdullahi Black was a distant third, with 33 votes, followed by Adam Saransor with 23 votes and  ‎Sharif Mohamed Abdalla with 13 votes.

Abdirashid Hidig and Sadiq Abdullahi finished at the bottom with 6 and 5 votes, respectively.

At the start of the day, eight MPs were official candidates. Mohamed Mursal, the immediate former speaker, was the first to drop out of the race shortly before the beginning of the first round.

240 MPs are eligible to cast a ballot. It was agreed that the MPs who were elected in the two parallel elections in the Gedo region would not be taking part in Wednesday's vote.

First round of voting: 

  • Hasan Abdinur: 98 votes
  • ‎Sheikh Adan Madobe: 74 votes
  • ‎Abdullahi Black: 33 votes
  • Adam Saransor :23 votes
  • ‎Sharif Mohamed Abdalla: 13 Votes
  • ‎Abdirashid Hidig: 6 votes
  • ‎Sadiq Abdullahi Abdi: 5 votes‎



Click here