Today from Hiiraan Online:  _
Hirshabelle Electoral Commission announced

Thursday November 5, 2020

Jowhar (HOL) - Hirshabelle's newly elected speaker of parliament, Abdihakim Luqman Haji Mohamed has announced the formation of the nine-member regional presidential electoral commission.

Abdihakim was elected on Wednesday in a landslide. His candidacy is widely seen as being supported by the federal government.

Asha Khalif Mohamed will chair the committee. It will be the first time that a woman will head Hirshabelle's electoral committee. It will be the governing body that sets the rules and process to elect the President and Vice-President of Hirshabelle for the next four years.

Mohamed Abdi Ware, the former regional president of Hirshabelle, stepped down earlier this week. Hirshabelle elders criticised his tenure as unremarkable who viewed him as too close to the federal government in Mogadishu.

In his resignation speech, Ware suggested that Hirshablle elections be postponed until after the federal parliamentary elections and criticised elders, the opposition and regional leaders who disagreed.

The list of committee members/ SUPPLIED


Click here