Today from Hiiraan Online:  _
Ads By Google
PM Roble names 25 members to the Federal Elections Committee

Thursday November 5, 2020

- Somali Prime Minister Mohamed Roble has appointed 25 members to the Federal Elections Committee to oversee the upcoming elections.

The office of the Prime Minister released the list Thursday. The PM also appointed a similar number to form the Electoral Dispute Resolution Mechanism.

The appointments come about two weeks past the deadline set by the National Consultative Council in September.

The Federal Elections Committee (FEC) will have the overall mandate of conducting the elections in coordination with the State Level Elections Committees.

The latter are appointed by respective Federal Member States.

Among those appointed to the FEC include Villa Somalia deputy chief of staff Abdinur Mohamed.

Lower House and Senate Elections will begin next month ahead of the election of a new president in February.


Click here