Today from Hiiraan Online:  _
Ads By Google
Puntland parliament strips legal immunity from 8 MPs

Thursday December 3, 2020

Garowe (HOL) - Puntland's regional parliament voted to strip legal immunity from 8 of its members after being accused of violating the standing orders of parliament.

A wide margin passed the vote with 35 MPs backing the motion, while only one MP rejected. There was a single abstention vote as well.

Ads By Google
The names of the MPs are as follows:

1. Abdijamaal Osman Mohamed

2. Abdiqani Abshir Surato

3. Muse Said Hassan (Jajabsay)

4. Abdiaziz Salad Ga'may (Baduugaye)

5. Mohamud Mohamed Barre

6. Suleiman Farah Isse.

7. Abdirahman Mohamud Mohamed (Dhorre)

8. Mohamud Ahmed Aalim.

Puntland Attorney General Mohamud Hassan Aw-Osman announced on Thursday that the embattled MPs may now face legal action, adding that he would refer the case to Puntland's High Court.

It is reported that the lawmakers have been directed not to leave Puntland.


Click here