Today from Hiiraan Online:  _
Kenya government transfers over 500 non-local teachers from Wajir County

Hiiraan Online
Friday March 16, 2018

 North Eastern region teachers demonstrating outside parliament building. (Photo: File/Standard)

Nairobi (HOL) - Kenya's Teachers Service Commission (TSC) have started transferring of over 543 non-local teachers from Wajir county to other parts of the country.

The body has already relocated 329 teachers to different schools since 16th February this year when suspected Al-Shabaab militants attacked Qarsa Primary School.

The transfer of 224 others from 42 different secondary schools in Wajir County is underway following a meeting between boards of management of the 42 schools, principals and government education officials.

TSC Wajir County Director Mohamed Yusuf who confirmed the relocation said the teacher's employer has come to the decision after the attacks against its non-local employees increased in recent months.

"There had been concerns over the safety of non-local teachers in North Eastern region particularly Wajir county which witnessed several deadly attacks against the teachers by Al-Shabaab militants. Therefore TSC decided to relocate its teachers who are working in the areas that faced security challenges to other parts of the country," Yussuf told reporters in Wajir town.

TSC Director Mohamed Yusuf said that the commision is working hard to ensure that all the teachers who left the county are replaced.

“As we are talking, we have already advertised for the positions of teachers to replace those who have left,” he said.

He appealed to the parents and schools’ boards of management to be calm as they await a permanent solution.

The remarks of Yussuf coincided with the ongoing demonstrations by the parents and students of the county as opposed the TSC move.

Last month, Al-Shabaab fighters raided Qarsa primary School in Wajir where they killed two non-local teachers together with the wife of one of the victims.s.


Click here